This summer, the Salem Museum is featuring a special exhibit to celebrate Salem’s firefighters. Up in Flames: Fighting Fire in Salem will showcase both the Salem Fire-EMS Department and the Virginia Department of Forestry’s Salem office. The exhibit will open at the Salem Museum with a special event on Saturday, June 1, and run through August 31. Admission is free.
Special Firefighter Event on Opening Day!
Saturday, June 1, from 10 am to 4 pm, is Firefighter Day at the Salem Museum! Tour a fire truck, meet firefighters, and learn how to prevent fires. Smokey Bear and Sparky will be on hand, too! The exhibit and opening day event are made possible by the City of Salem Fire-EMS Department; the Virginia Department of Forestry; Firehouse Subs, W. Main St, Salem; and Roger Rakes: Allstate Insurance. The Salem Museum is located next to Longwood Park at 801 E. Main Street. Admission is free, but donations are appreciated! www.SalemMuseum.org
Note: The Salem Museum’s entrance has changed. Turn off Main Street at Oakey Field, across from the Berglund Ford service entrance. Then turn left to drive up to the Museum’s parking lot and entrance.
About the Salem Museum & Historical Society
The Salem Museum & Historical Society is an independent, nonprofit organization preserving and celebrating the history of Salem, Virginia, which was founded in 1802. The Salem Museum is located next to Longwood Park in the historic 1845 Williams-Brown House at 801 East Main Street, Salem, VA 24153. Open Tuesday–Saturday, 10 am to 4 pm. Museum admission is free, but donations are appreciated. The Museum has free parking. 540-389-6760. salemmuseum.org